The ABCD’s nine members include practitioners from all main areas of actuarial practice and members of the five main U.S. actuarial organizations—the American Academy of Actuaries (the Academy), the American Society of Enrolled Actuaries (ASEA), the Casualty Actuarial Society (CAS), the Conference of Consulting Actuaries (the Conference), and the Society of Actuaries (SOA).

Each of the four primary areas of actuarial practice (casualty, health, life, pension) is represented by at least two members of the ABCD.

ABCD’s members are appointed to three-year terms by a Selection Committee, established in the Academy bylaws and chaired by the Academy President.

Current members
David F. Ogden

  • Areas of expertise: Health Benefit Systems
  • Professional credentials: MAAA, FSA
  • Phone number: 414-915-3712
  • Email:
  • Term expires: 2020
Biographical Summary

David F. Ogden retired from Milliman in 2014 after a 35 year career.

He was a health consultant with experience in commercial, Medicare and Medicaid consulting. He worked with health plans, providers, state Medicaid agencies, Blue Cross Blue Shield plans and insurance companies. He had significant experience working with Medicare Advantage and Part D plans.
He served on the Health Committee of the Actuarial Standards Board, including being Chair. He is a member of the American Academy of Actuaries Medicaid Work Group and served on the task force that developed ASOP 49 “Medicaid Managed Care Capitation Rate Development”. He authored several study notes and has spoken frequently at both actuarial and industry meetings.

He served on the Board of Directors of the General Board of Pensions and Health Benefits of the United Methodist Church. He is a member of the Joint Board of Pensions, Equitable Compensation and Insurance for the Wisconsin Conference of the United Methodist Church and a past Chair. He is a member of the Advisory Board for the Actuarial Science degree program at Oakland University, Rochester MI.

Mr. Ogden has a B.A. in Mathematics from Oakland University and a M.S. in Actuarial Science from the University of Wisconsin – Madison.